

Annual General Meeting - October 15, 2023

## Report of the CPF Ontario Bylaws Committee 2022 - 2023

At this time, I would like to thank D. Williams and Susan Lee for their hard work on the CPF Ontario Bylaws Committee. I would also like to thank Betty Gormley for her guidance during our review process.

Annual Review of the CPF Ontario Bylaws

The CPF Ontario Bylaws committee reviewed the CPF Ontario Bylaw No.1 prior to the 2022-2023 fiscal year-end with the knowledge that no changes had been made to the CPF National Bylaws at that time that would impact the Branch and, therefore, is not recommending any changes be brought forward to the Branch Bylaws at this October 15, 2023, Annual General Meeting.

The CPF Bylaws Committee has reviewed the CPF Ontario policies with a view to modernizing them and aligning them with the CPF National policies, which have been vetted by a legal authority hired by CPF National.

The CPF Bylaws Committee hired a consultant to create the new Draft Policy Document (March-April 2023). The Committee agreed to the Executive Director hiring a consultant knowledgeable in not-for-profit governance and policy setting to merge the identified components of the National policy document with the current draft CPF Ontario policies. The individual committee members were tasked with reviewing each policy in the revised document within a specific section of the Draft Document for accuracy and suitability to the Branch perspective and documenting all comments and edits on a shared platform. On May 24, 2023, the Committee met to discuss the process of reviewing the proposed document, and then on June 7, 2023, we met and finalized the Draft Document. On July 5, I shared the finalized Draft CPF Ontario Policies with the CPF Ontario Board of Directors via email, with a request to review the new Draft Policy Document for approval at the July 12, 2023, Board meeting. The updated Policies were approved at that time.

Respectfully submitted by Myron Karpiuk, Chair, CPF Ontario Bylaws Committee

Bylaws Committee Members: Myron Karpiuk, Chair Susan Lee, Director Deborah Williams, Director Betty Gormley, Executive Director